we looked like giants.

"a lion's inspiration," he said, "a lion's inspiration taught me to leave."
taught me how to run from love because destruction can never be a benefit.
don't shake, don't shake
when did you become like me?
guess i taught you to look for replacements.
now you're crying on the stairwell, a waste of a coffee break, saying "you know i love you, you know i love you"
repetition is a sign of hysteria, a sign of a breakdown & i guess that was always my department.
i feel like i ruined you.
so he's sobbing now, with a total disregard for his coworkers,
"this always happens to me. this always happens to me.
i have something good right in front of my fucking face,
but then there's this amazing thing...there's you & you're this amazing thing,
like i've never felt so in love in my life
& i'll take the amazing thing.
i'll take the amazing thing & get burned, & i'm left with nothing."
i will make no promises.
he's saying, "god you know i love you, god you know i love you right?"
i wish i had decision making skills beyond hedonism, but i don't.
"i know. i know. i love you too. always."
he cries.
"a lion's inspiration," he said, "a lion's inspiration is all i need."

before & after
index
older
profile
notes
dland